Listening to God



S (Scripture): Romans  3:1 Therefore what advantage does the Jew have, or what is the value of circumcision? 3:2 Actually, there are many advantages. First of all, the Jews were entrusted with the oracles of God.

O (Observation): Paul has just been arguing that the Jewish sign of the covenant is circumcision.  But really, Paul argues, whether one acts according to the law or not is the truer sign of the covenant.  And Paul argues that both Jews and Gentiles can act according to the Law, and both Jews and Gentiles and wantonly disobey the Law. 

But in the verses above, Paul shows that the status of the Jews is still significant, since God chose to reveal God’s self most fully to the Hebrew people, first. God chose to reveal God’s own words to the Jews, first. 

A (Application): What revelation I receive from God has not been as clear-cut as Scripture being handed down, but that does not deter me from trying to discern what God is saying to me and what God would have me do. 

In the huddle I’m a part of (a discipling group), we struggle with those two questions:  What is God saying to me? And What would God have me do?

I don’t think enough of us struggle with these two questions, in a small group setting, in which support and accountability shape our thoughts and our ways.  

Mostly, we like to go through life as Christians who don’t care for much change in our personal lives.  We like “church” and worship, but anything causing me to change my giving patterns or actions is too much.  

I get that the struggle is real, and I don’t complain.  God has all of this under control.  I just seek God’s will for me and my family to do our part.  That means taking others in and sharing what we think has been revealed to us and share God’s will the best we can.  

Here’s an article that might be helpful in terms of diagnosing some failings within the Church as a whole.  See if you stand convicted:

The Lure of Nondiscipleship Christianity and What We Can Do About It

P (Prayer): Lord, enlighten us.  Make us wise to your ways, that we might be changed and renewed with a passion for listening to you and acting on your callings in our lives. Amen. 

5 thoughts on “Listening to God

Leave a comment