Shout it?  Live it? Both?


S (Scripture): 1 Corinthians 15:8 Last of all, as to one untimely born, he appeared also to me. 9 For I am the least of the apostles, unfit to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. 10 But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace toward me has not been in vain. On the contrary, I worked harder than any of them—though it was not I, but the grace of God that is with me. 11 Whether then it was I or they, so we proclaim and so you have come to believe.

O (Observation): Paul reminds the church in Corinth that Jesus Christ died for our sins, was resurrected, and appeared to the disciples and to Paul himself.  He wants to pass on what was handed over to him: the knowledge of the death and resurrection of Christ for our benefit.   

And while he strives for excellence and compliance with Jesus, Paul recognizes his own faults and isn’t afraid to own his goofs. 

And in the end, regardless of whether or not it is Paul who helped them to know Christ, or fellow disciples, he makes clear that “we proclaim.”   For when we do, someone may come to believe.  

A (Application):  We so want our side to win.  When we engage in conversations online, we start with our position.    Jesus Christ is Lord!  Ok.  That might work.   However, another approach might be just as effective, if not more effective.  

What if you started with a question?   Not a loaded one, like “Is Jesus Your Lord and Savior?” Instead, how about: What did you think of the service project? What did you think about the President’s  speech?   How do you feel about the school shooting?

We can try to be sly and clever in our arguments, but that only tends to aggravate and push people away.   Being mature in Christ is great.  Lording that over someone else is not so helpful.   Let us give grace when we want to condemn.  Let us be loving examples (notice I didn’t say perfect examples), so that others may come to believe.   

Don’t just proclaim the love of the Lord.  Live love.  

P (Prayer):  Lord, help me to live out the love you’ve shown me. Amen.   

Leave a Reply

