God’s Pursuit of Us


S (Scripture): Psalm 23

4 Even when I must walk through the darkest valley, I fear no danger, for you are with me; your rod and your staff reassure me.

5 You prepare a feast before me in plain sight of my enemies. You refresh my head with oil; my cup is completely full.

6 Surely your goodness and faithfulness will pursue me all my days, and I will live in the Lord’s house for the rest of my life.

O (Observation): Some of the most well-known verses of Scripture reside here in this psalm.  We have heard these verses mostly at funerals or you may have recalled these verses in times of need.  

The author knows that he can look to the Lord, who is not just passively watching over the faithful…

Instead, God is pursuing the faithful, very actively!

“Pursuing” is typically the activity of an enemy against their victim.  In this case, God’s goodness and faithfulness are doing the pursuing.   This an active mode from God to the faithful author and reader of this psalm. 

A (Application):  We know what it’s like to be pursued by the pressures of this world:  deadlines, achievements, grades, responsibilities, parenting, etc.  But when was the last time you felt pursued by God’s goodness and faithfulness?

I think these things (God’s goodness and faithfulness) are always pursuing us. I just don’t think we ever pause long enough to look behind us and see that they’re right there. We’re focused so much on what’s happening next: what’s the next calendar appointment, what’s the next goal to be achieved, what’s the next…?

So my suggestion today is simple: stop. For five minutes. For 15 minutes. For even 30 seconds. To be intentionally focusing on where God is active in your life. Give your heart over to God for that time period.  

Breathe in, hold. Breathe out, hold. 

Repeat for as long as necessary…until you can sense that God is actively pursuing you for the good.  

P (Prayer):  Lord, slow me down. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

