Shake It Off (yeah, I went there)

S (Scripture): Acts 18:5 Now when Silas and Timothy arrived (in Corinth) from Macedonia, Paul became wholly absorbed with proclaiming the word, testifying to the Jews that Jesus was the Christ. 6 When they opposed him and reviled him, he protested by shaking out his clothes and said to them, “Your blood be on your own heads! I am guiltless! From now on I will go to the Gentiles!”

O (Observation):  As Paul shakes out his clothes, he seems to be making the same statement as if he were to shake the dust off his feet.  Paul senses that he is called to preach of Jesus as the Christ to all people. Yet several in the synagogue – mostly Jews – oppose him. Not only oppose him, but revile him. 

Now, Paul’s done trying to help the Jewish people in Corinth see that Jesus is the promised Messiah. He says it is time to move on and speak to the Gentiles who will listen and believe in Jesus as the Christ, the Messiah.
A (Application):  Folks, sometimes you just got to move on to those who will hear.   I feel like Paul when I’m on Facebook : ) I know I’m not always right, but I feel like some people refuse to hear or agree with the way I see God working in the world.  

Maybe it’s me…maybe I’m the one who needs to repent more and seek wisdom.  

The funny thing is, I feel like I know what Paul’s going through.   I do my best to teach the way Christ wants us to live. And on Facebook, I’m seeing fewer and fewer people of the (universal) Church agree with these thoughts, and more and more people who are not of the faith or maybe who aren’t strong church attenders agreeing with some of my insights. 

I’m beginning to see the issues I’m concerned about transcending beyond Christian vs. non-Christian.  I’m seeing issues that concern the world less and less in terms of Christian (or non-Christian) viewpoints…and more and more from a simple “humanitarian” viewpoint.   

I believe God wants me to be more concerned with doing justice, loving kindness, and walking humbly with God, than with making sure I have the exact right interpretation of Scripture.  That loving my neighbor is more important than having the “right” set of beliefs.   If I’m living as Jesus wants me to live – loving God and loving neighbor – then the other stuff (yes, even doctrine itself) is secondary.  

If you can’t get on board with that, watch me shake the dust off my coat…and go care for my neighbor in need.  

P (Prayer):  Lord, help me make good use of my time and always preach Christ, and him crucified.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

