God in Our Responses


S (Scripture): Psalm 141

1 O Lord, I cry out to you. Come quickly to me! Pay attention to me when I cry out to you!

2 May you accept my prayer like incense, my uplifted hands like the evening offering!

3 O Lord, place a guard on my mouth! Protect the opening of my lips!

4 Do not let me have evil desires, or participate in sinful activities with men who behave wickedly. I will not eat their delicacies.

O (Observation):  The psalmist asks God to protect him from sin and from sinful men.  This psalm expresses the desire for people of faith to be given the encouragement needed for healthy expression of words and constructive decisions.  

A (Application):  So these verses should totally be my prayer before I get on Facebook 

: )

I am an emotional person, and so I lead with feelings quite often.   I usually need some space between reading a post and reacting.    So as much as I disagree with some posts out there, I am learning something:  I need God in the responses.    

How about you?  Is God in your responses?   Let’s make a deal:  let’s pray for each other…that God is in our responses. 

P (Prayer):  Lord, help me to see that you are everywhere…in the spaces in which I agree with others, and the spaces where we disagree.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

