Saint and Sinner


A little different post today…

I’ve been really struggling with how to engage in conversations on social media, where we seem to be dividing more than uniting.  I’m okay with differences of opinion, but I’m sensing something shifting in the sands of how to converse with one another online. 

Lack of humility seems to be a key challenge with online conversations, but I don’t think that’s totally it.  

Here’s what bothers me most: cynicism.   When we make cynical remarks or react cynically to a post or person with whom we disagree, we fail to allow room for growth.   I don’t think we need to give up our opinions, research, or desires…I just think that cynicism cripples our opportunity to find a way forward together.  

I was thinking about all of this as I read Richard Rohr’s daily devotion from today, Monday, December 5, 2016.  I’m working through how this applies to my comments on cynicism.  What are your thoughts?

(And here is my favorite quote from his devotion today)

“We are all a mixture of weeds and wheat and we always will be. As Martin Luther put it, we are simul justus et peccator. We are simultaneously saint and sinner. That’s the mystery of holding weeds and wheat together in our one field of life. It takes a lot more patience, compassion, forgiveness, and love than aiming for some illusory perfection that is usually blind to its own faults. Acknowledging both the wheat and weeds in us keeps us from thinking too highly of ourselves and also from dismissing ourselves as terrible. ” – Richard Rohr, Monday, Dec 5, 2016

The full devotion can be found here.  
For more information about Richard Rohr (and to subscribe to his daily email devotions) and for more about the Center for Action and Contemplation, visit: https://cac.org/

Leave a Reply

