Whether I’m Right or Wrong…


S (Scripture): Psalm 127
1  If the Lord does not build a house,
then those who build it work in vain.

If the Lord does not guard a city,
then the watchman stands guard in vain.

2 It is vain for you to rise early, come home late, and work so hard for your food.

Yes, he can provide for those whom he loves even when they sleep.

O (Observation):  At first, these words can seem very exclusive to non-believers and encourage laziness.  But that is not my interpretation.  

As a person who follows God, one should see that the Lord is helping you to raise that house.   Thinking that you – under your own strength ALONE – built it can cause you to forget that the Lord is the one who blessed you to build it in the first place.  

As a person who follows God, your work is not for your own end, but to give God glory.   Work not just for the money, but in a way that shows that God will provide where your means end.   God will provide for you…with sleep…with what you need even while you sleep. 

A (Application):  I work hard.  I challenge myself with lots of things…and at times, I work like it all depends on me.   Thankfully, God continues to work with me on this improper approach to work and ministry.  

Instead, I have had to be challenged with thinking about the fact that it does NOT all depend on me.  (Weird, I know : ) 

This psalm reminds me that the challenges folks are facing today are in God’s hands…not mine…but that doesn’t mean I get to be lazy.  

As I enter into divisive online conversations, I will try to remember the verses above, so that I will be able to share my thoughts in a way that enlightens and encourages conversation, and at the same time, does not depend on me “winning.”   

God has already won…whether I’m right or wrong.  

P (Prayer):  Lord, help me to be patient and kind.  Help me to lead with love.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

