So Who’s Getting In?


S (Scripture): John 10:27 [Jesus replied to the Jewish leaders:] “My sheep listen to my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish; no one will snatch them from my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one can snatch them from my Father’s hand. 30 The Father and I are one.”

O (Observation):  Jesus was discussing salvation with the Jewish leaders.  They seemed to want only those who followed the Law to be given salvation.  Jesus wants anyone who will hear his voice and recognize his voice.  That means Jew and Gentile alike.  Not so good for business, huh?

A (Application):  Who do we want in?  Into salvation, I mean.   Seems like Christians spend more time talking about who’s getting in, rather than the reason why any of us is getting in at all!   The Gospel is our hope and stay.   That’s the Good News!

Jesus calls all of us to be a part of the Kingdom.  Listen for his voice.  He calls. 

Can you tell me a time when you’ve heard God’s voice?  

(My most recent experience of God calling was at a racism workshop at Lutheridge, a conference center in Arden, NC.)

P (Prayer): Lord, help us all to see that you call all to listen to your voice.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

