Farther Than I Know


S (Scripture): John 6:47 Jesus says, “I tell you the solemn truth, the one who believes has eternal life. 48 I am the bread of life. 49 Your ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness, and they died. 50 This is the bread that has come down from heaven, so that a person may eat from it and not die. 51 I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats from this bread he will live forever. The bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.”

O (Observation): Jesus’ followers were looking for a sign to verify that Jesus was the one that God had sent.  They heard his words, but they wanted a sign.   Their ancestors received manna from heaven and they wanted a sign, too.  

This time, though, God gave more than just bread to eat: God gave them the bread of life – Jesus.  All who looked to Jesus for salvation received it.   This makes Jesus the bread that brings forth eternal life.   

Still, though,…to eat the flesh…?

A (Application):  Sometimes a leap of faith is what carries us through.  We plan and budget and prep.   But sometimes, we just reach the end of our rope…and that’s when God really takes over.   

Eat flesh?  Drink blood?   How odd…

What good can a slug of wine and a morsel of bread do me?  Well, it’s more than bread and more than wine…it’s God’s presence and grace in the bread and wine… mysterious… life-giving.    And it’s eternal.  

Being fed in this manner – week in, week out – I have been shaped to believe that my cares and my worries are never too big for God to take on.  And knowing that my wife and children and I are being cared for by our God of grace and mercy, I am able to carry on…unchained from fear and doubt… confident that God is carrying me farther than I know.   

P (Prayer):  Lord, I thank you again for carrying me farther than I know.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

