The Gospel is Not a Weapon


S (Scripture): Luke 17:33 Whoever tries to keep his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life will preserve it. 34 I tell you, in that night there will be two people in one bed; one will be taken and the other left. 35 There will be two women grinding grain together; one will be taken and the other left.”

O (Observation):  Jesus is talking about “the coming of the Son of Man.”  This has “end-time” and judgment connotations.   Jesus is calling on those who follow God to now follow him.  This is a major challenge, and the people will have to decide.  

When the time comes, Jesus makes note that it will be swift and sudden.  He calls on them to believe in him.  To help set the tone, he says that two people will be working side by side, and one will be taken and the other not.

The commentary today tells me this, about one being taken and the other remaining:

The primary purpose in context is to picture the sudden, surprising separation of the righteous and the judged (i.e., condemned) at the return of the Son of Man.

A (Application):  So I don’t worry about my salvation or the salvation of others.   Yep. Take that in.   Let me explain…

I don’t see others around me as saved or not saved.  I try my level-best to love and care for everyone equally.  That is tremendously difficult when I encounter people who dislike or mock me, but I still try.  And even if I fail, I don’t walk away thinking, “Well, I guess I won’t be seeing them in heaven.”

I CARE about people, but if I think it’s my job to save people, and the goal is to make sure they are saved, my frustration will know no end, and I will end up becoming very legalistic about life and faith.  Soon faith would become some formula devoid of transformation.  Perhaps salvation would be whittled down to saying a particular prayer or statement of belief…and nothing more…no change of heart…no transformation.  

Or worse, we could become militant about making sure others love God.   

(Check out this movie clip that mocks the militant approach to faith.)

 Yes, the picture Jesus lays out is scary.  And yes, salvation matters.   

So, go out and tell others what God has done for you. Go out and serve others, because God has served you.  Go out and be kind to ALL people.  Go out and see others not as souls to be saved, but as God’s children to be loved.  

When asked if you have been saved, what has been your response?

P (Prayer):  Lord, may we know that you are willing and able to transform each and every one of us.   Help us by lowering our resistance to you and your love.  Amen.  

2 thoughts on “The Gospel is Not a Weapon

  1. You wrote: “And even if I fail, I don’t walk away thinking, ‘Well, I guess I won’t be seeing them in heaven’.”

    Priceless! 🙂 I also agree with the position that all one can do is lay it out for others to take (or not) at their own pace. “It is more blessed to give than to receive” in no way suggests that “it is better to forcefully stuff than to offer.” However, sometimes just getting the plate to the table can be its own challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

