Young Ladies Carrying a Message of Grace


S (Scripture): Luke 1:46 And Mary said,

“My soul exalts the Lord,

47 and my spirit has begun to rejoice in God my Savior,

48 because he has looked upon the humble state of his servant.

For from now on all generations will call me blessed,

49 because he who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is his name;

50 from generation to generation he is merciful to those who fear him.

51 He has demonstrated power with his arm; he has scattered those whose pride wells up from the sheer arrogance of their hearts.

52 He has brought down the mighty from their thrones, and has lifted up those of lowly position;

53 he has filled the hungry with good things, and has sent the rich away empty.

54 He has helped his servant Israel, remembering his mercy,

55 as he promised to our ancestors, to Abraham and to his descendants forever.”

56 So Mary stayed with Elizabeth about three months and then returned to her home.

O (Observation): Another day, another powerful story of God’s work done in a woman.   Mary is to be the mother of Jesus.   Her song today is a witness to more than just God saving her.  She gives witness to what God has been up to ever since he called Abraham to leave his home. 

God has seen Israel through it’s finest hour and through its worst.  And this message comes to us via a quiet, yet powerful witness of a young lady.  

A (Application): My two girls surprise me all of the time.  I’m busy washing dishes, and the older girl comes up and hugs me and says, “I love you!”   I’m busy on the laptop, and my other little girl comes up and says, “Ok, daddy!  I’m ready to play now!”  

In the moments when I’m not expecting it, their grace overwhelms me.  Their grace focuses me to what is important.  These relationships are one way that God shows up and reminds me that even though I may not be paying attention, God is paying attention to me.  

Mary knew of God, but now she really knows God is paying attention.   Mary knows that for generations God has been and is still active.  God has been and is still looking out for all of us.  

We’ve seen God’s message of grace come through an unwed, pregnant teenager.  I’ve seen that grace come through my two little girls.   

Who has God used in your life to remind you of God’s grace?

P (Prayer): God, help us to be open to hearing your Word!  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

