Music: a Reminder of God’s Presence


S (Scripture): Psalm 71:14 As for me, I will wait continually, and will continue to praise you.

15 I will tell about your justice, and all day long proclaim your salvation, though I cannot fathom its full extent.

16 I will come and tell about the mighty acts of the sovereign Lord. I will proclaim your justice – yours alone.

17 O God, you have taught me since I was young, and I am still declaring your amazing deeds.

18 Even when I am old and gray, O God, do not abandon me

O (Observation): The psalmist goes on and on about being under attack, and yet also being graced with God’s presence.   God’s presence gives the psalmist patience to endure the suffering he is undergoing.  Even when she is old and gray, God will not abandon her. 

A (Application):  Last night, I was reminded of God’s presence in a concert that our congregation hosted.   The words spoken and sung and the bells rung to the glory of God alone.   

The Tucker First United Methodist Church’s youth choir and youth handbell ensembles burst forth with words and music that gave glory to God, reminding us that God is ever-present in our times of joy and sorrow.  

The choir has been touring Nashville and spreading the gospel with the gift of music.  

Here is a link to a video that was produced by Melissa Cross of the Rutherford County Habitat for Humanity.   This concert supported the Thrivent Builds Habitat for Humanity project coming up in Murfreesboro, TN.  

Video: Tucker First UMC Youth Choir and Handbell Ensembles 

Website: Tucker First UMC Music Ministries

P (Prayer): Lord, music is your gift to us.  We remember your presence when we sing and perform to your glory alone.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

