Receive

S (Scripture): Mark 10:13 Now people were bringing little children to Jesus for him to touch, but the disciples scolded those who brought them. 14 But when Jesus saw this, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the little children come to me and do not try to stop them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. 15 I tell you the truth, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.” 16 After he took the children in his arms, he placed his hands on them and blessed them.

O (Observation): “Receive.”   One doesn’t grasp for the Kingdom of God.  One receives it.  Like a child, full of acceptance and innocence. 

If one grabs onto the things of this world (money, possessions, even relationships), one’s arms will not be open to receive ANYTHING, not to mention the Kingdom itself. 

A (Application): I like my stuff.  I like to take care of…well…most of my stuff.   But I like it all, nonetheless.  (Especially money : $)

I like my technology gadgets, my house, the cars, all of it!   

I like being a pastor, but if that ever got in the way of me receiving the Kingdom, I would have to let that go.   Scary thought…

But the grace of it all is that we don’t have to pursue the Kingdom.  The Kingdom is all around us.  And it comes to us.   We will be reminded of this on Sunday, as we gather to celebrate the gift of Pentecost…the day we received the Spirit, our Advocate, for life.  

What challenges have you faced in order to receive the Kingdom?  What have you let go of to open your arms?  Money?  Position? Privilege?

P (Prayer): Lord, remind us that you are all we need.  You sustained our ancestors and you will sustain us.  Give us grace around the areas we need to let go, in order to receive your Kingdom.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

