Humble Thyself

  

S (Scripture): Psalm 37:
7 Wait patiently for the Lord!  Wait confidently for him!  Do not fret over the apparent success of a sinner, a man who carries out wicked schemes!

8 Do not be angry and frustrated!  Do not fret! That only leads to trouble!

9 Wicked men will be wiped out, but those who rely on the Lord are the ones who will possess the land.

10 Evil men will soon disappear; you will stare at the spot where they once were, but they will be gone.

11 But the oppressed will possess the land and enjoy great prosperity.

12 Evil men plot against the godly and viciously attack them.

13 The Lord laughs in disgust at them, for he knows that their day is coming.

O (Observation):  The psalmist is confident that The Lord will protect those who are godly – that is, God’s people.   The Lord has provided and will provide, though the situation seems bleak.  

The psalmist and God’s people – most likely in a time of temporary exile – were worried that their captors would be victorious…that their captors would win the day.   But then this psalm, formed from the crucible of suffering and despair rises to meet homesick ears.  

This is God’s way of reassuring God’s people: I will not forget you…you will be given the land and prosperity 

A (Application):  Who is our oppressor?  Today, my oppressor is myself.  I worry about how something is going to get done, rather than what my next step should be.  I try to think of all the steps at once, even when I know that Faith is about taking the first step, even when I can’t see the whole staircase. 

My own self-conscience plagues me at times, giving me cause to doubt myself.  But then…it’s not about doubting myself that is the problem.  My problem is thinking that I’m the one to “get it all done” in the first place!   

This is Jesus’ world, and I’m just livin’ in it!!!!

I can play a role, but I am not the Savior.   I have gifts and a calling, but only for God’s glory!  

What a relief! Phew!  I needed that.  Thanks, God!

Who? / What? Is your oppressor?  How are you handling that today?

P (Prayer):  Lord,  I am troubled with self-aggrandizement.  Humble me.   Make me whole.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

