Bust out the Banjo!

  

S (Scripture): Psalm 33:1 You godly ones, shout for joy because of the Lord!  It is appropriate for the morally upright to offer him praise.

2 Give thanks to the Lord with the harp!  Sing to him to the accompaniment of a ten-stringed instrument!

3 Sing to him a new song!  Play skillfully as you shout out your praises to him!

O (Observation):  The psalmist encourages God’s people to worship!  Bust out the banjo and harp!  Let it rip!   Why?  Because “GOD!”

God has shown great mercy and great love.  Lay everything else down for the moment.  Celebrate the goodness and grace that is God. 

A (Application):  I haven’t pulled out the 6- or 12-string in a while.  My wife and I love making music together.   I love playing the guitar.   The pure awesome joy of moving from silence to filling the air around me with sounds of beauty is truly amazing.  I feel like I am co-creating with God in those moments. 

And then add the beautiful sound of my wife’s voice…oh boy….that’s worship!

Maybe I’ll record something tonight, and let you enjoy a little bit of music…a little bit of praise.  

What are you able to do to give thanks to God? Art?  Science? Spoken word? Silent reflection? Not everyone shows outward signs of praise…but I sure like to : )

P (Prayer):  Lord, you are precious and worthy of praise.  Thank you for the gift of making music.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

