God Equips the Called

  

S (Scripture): Exodus 4:10 But Moses said to the Lord, “O my Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor even now that you have spoken to your servant; but I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.” 11 Then the Lord said to him, “Who gives speech to mortals? Who makes them mute or deaf, seeing or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you are to speak.” 13 But he said, “O my Lord, please send someone else.” 14 Then the anger of the Lord was kindled against Moses and he said, “What of your brother Aaron the Levite? I know that he can speak fluently; even now he is coming out to meet you, and when he sees you his heart will be glad. 15 You shall speak to him and put the words in his mouth; and I will be with your mouth and with his mouth, and will teach you what you shall do. 16 He indeed shall speak for you to the people; he shall serve as a mouth for you, and you shall serve as God for him. 17 Take in your hand this staff, with which you shall perform the signs.”

O (Observation): God has called upon Moses to lead God’s people out of Pharaoh’s hand, but Moses feels inadequate for this great task.   He claims that he is not a good public speaker, but God promises to supply Moses’ words.   Moses feels that his style of speaking will inhibit the effectiveness of the words, but God  reminds Moses that Aaron (Moses’ brother) is coming to Moses.  Aaron can do the talking.  

In the midst of doubt and a lack of skill, God comes in to provide for Moses’ needs, so that Moses can fulfill his calling.     

A (Application):  God doesn’t just call those who are already equipped…God equips those who are called!

GOD EQUIPS THOSE WHO ARE CALLED!!!

As I began my seminary journey, I lacked (and still lack) skills.  God equipped me along the way.  But something even more foundational and organic happens when we are called. 

When we are called, God equips us.  Pastors are but one type of people in the world who are called.  We all have callings, and one of my callings is to remind every believer in Christ that they, too, have a calling…and God is the one who will equip that person.  

Coming from an extremely organized denomination, in terms of our schooling and ordination of pastors and other leaders (like associates in ministry, Diaconal Ministers, deacons/deaconesses), we can sometimes separate (to the extreme) who is “called” or not.   We lift up clergy and rostered leaders as if their calling is better than that of another who is not a clergy person.    I think breaking this false dichotomy  is becoming more and more my life’s work.   

And the teaching I am to share is this:  God equips those who are called.   God gives you what you need to follow your calling.  Just as God equips Moses, God equips you and me.

Our callings will most assuredly be different from one another, but are all of equal importance.  

With whom do you discern your calling?  Your pastor?  Your friend?  I would encourage you to seek an internal calling, verified externally byclose  friends and loved ones.   This seems to me the first step in discernment.  

P (Prayer):  Lord, we thank you for equipping us to fulfill the varied callings into which we live and move.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

