Selling It All

  S (Scripture): Matthew 13:45 “Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls. 46 When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.”

O (Observation): Jesus tells another parable as a way to remind the hearers that when something precious is before them, sole attention should be given to that precious thing.  

This is what the kingdom is like.  So this focuses on how we are to be in God’s Kingdom, how we are to respond to what is precious before us. 

A (Application):  As I think about this, I think about the precious people that God has sent my way:  my wife, my kids, parishioners at the church I serve…   These are precious to me.  

I also have encountered ministries of which I am excited to be a part of.  And more people and great books.  But most of all, I am thankful for what God is up to.   

The people and ministries that come before me, I try to sell all and give that person/ministry my attention.   That is hard.  I don’t always focus. Things get in the way…but that is what grace is for.  

What gets in your way?   What keeps you from selling all for that precious thing?

P (Prayer):  Lord, I seek your guidance when obstacles stand in the way of me being an active part of your Kingdom.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

