My seminary – Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary 

  S (Scripture): Genesis 37:3 Now Israel loved Joseph more than all his sons because he was a son born to him late in life, and he made a special tunic for him. 4 When Joseph’s brothers saw that their father loved him more than any of them, they hated Joseph and were not able to speak to him kindly.

18 Now Joseph’s brothers saw him from a distance, and before he reached them, they plotted to kill him. 19 They said to one another, “Here comes this master of dreams! 20 Come now, let’s kill him, throw him into one of the cisterns, and then say that a wild animal ate him. Then we’ll see how his dreams turn out!”

36 Now in Egypt the Midianites sold Joseph to Potiphar, one of Pharaoh’s officials, the captain of the guard.

O (Observation): Joseph was the runt of the litter.  He deserved only the scraps of inheritance from Jacob/Israel, his father.   That was the custom.  And the disturbing fact for Jacob’s firstborn is that Jacob loved Joseph the most.  Frustrating to say the least. 

But Joseph was given dreams that pointed him to the fact that he would be bowed to.  That prophetic vision was given to Joseph, even before what he knew to do with it. 

In the end, Joseph escaped.  Not of his own doing, but he escaped nonetheless.  The hope of the dream is continued.  

A (Application):  Today I’m in Columbia, SC.  I’m attending an alumni focus group at Lutheran Theological  Southern Seminary.   The dreams Kelly and I dreamed here are continually coming into focus.  Driving by familiar sites last night and this morning are causing me to recall those dreams.  

I also recall the dreams of those classmates with whom I shared time and energy.  I also know of some of the cisterns we have all fallen into – some our own doing, some caused by forces unknown. 

Sometimes things work out like we plan; sometimes they don’t.  

Many who have been formed by this seminary have realized that the journey is guided by God’s hand.  And we begin to move out into the world under God’s umbrella of grace.  

We are given the Spirit to guide us on our journey.  My seminary taught me lots of things, but mostly, my seminary formed me and shaped me to discern the presence of the Spirit through worship, relationships, and reaching out to my neighbor.  

Thanks, Lutheran TheologicalSouthern  Seminary!

P (Prayer):  Lord, thank you for always being with me and my family.  Be with my seminary.  Help the seminary to continue to form and shape leaders of the church for today and tomorrow.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

