The Surging Water

  S (Scripture):  Psalm 18:16 He reached down from above and took hold of me; he pulled me from the surging water. 17 He rescued me from my strong enemy, from those who hate me, for they were too strong for me.

O (Observation):  The psalmist acknowledges the Lord’s hand in saving him from his troubles.  The surging water was a famous metaphor for the difficulties in the world, one’s enemies, or  evil itself.  The psalmist sees the hope in relying on the Lord, because the Lord is the one to save us. 

A (Application): I think all of us can name a time when we felt the surging water rising around us.  Doubt is my surging water.   Not doubt in the Lord, but doubt in myself.   Could I do more?  Could I do things better?  That doubt causes me to disengage from my family, my friends, even my hobbies.   

I lean not on my own efforts, but trust in the Lord this day to tell me that my efforts are good.  My work is what it needs to be.   Sure, things can improve, but only as an outcome of my overall health and trust in the Lord.    I’ll see what God has in store for me this day, and hope for engaging moments with my family, work, hobbies, and those around me.  

Thank you, God, for bringing me into the fold and for claiming me as your own.

What is the surging water in your life?  In what, in whom do you trust?

P (Prayer):  Lord, protect me from the surging water that rises.   You can rescue me.  Help all who struggle with the rising water.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

