The Second Covenant

  S (Scripture): Genesis 12:1 Now the Lord said to Abram, “Go out from your country, your relatives, and your father’s household to the land that I will show you.  

2 Then I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you, and I will make your name great, so that you will exemplify divine blessing.

3 I will bless those who bless you, but the one who treats you lightly I must curse, and all the families of the earth will bless one another by your name.”

O (Observation): God commits for the second time.  Abram’s descendants will be blessed and made into a great nation.  God promises this, with little to no commitment needed from Abram. God simply chose Abram…and equips Abram along the way. 

The Canaanites live in Canaan.   Yet this is where God calls Abram to establish his new residency.  This is the Promised Land.  

Now what?  Now, God takes action.  

A (Application): So many times I know what I am called to do, but I’m too scared.   I overthink things, and get into “analysis paralysis.”   I try to plan all the steps, even before taking Step One.  

The grace is there. I need but extended my right foot and lean forward.  If I slip, God is there.   If I misstep, God is there.  

What are you afraid of?  What vision have you received that you’re just too scared to step into?

Remember Abram.  

P (Prayer):  God, carry me forward and remind me that you are with me…every step of the way.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

