The First Covenant

  

S (Scripture): Genesis 6: 17 For my part, I am going to bring a flood of waters on the earth, to destroy from under heaven all flesh in which is the breath of life; everything that is on the earth shall die. 18 But I will establish my covenant with you; and you shall come into the ark, you, your sons, your wife, and your sons’ wives with you. 19 And of every living thing, of all flesh, you shall bring two of every kind into the ark, to keep them alive with you; they shall be male and female.

O (Observation):  The first covenant is established.   God will destroy the inhabitants of earth: humans, creeping things, animals, birds of the air.   Yet, God chooses to redeem all living things through the ark.   The ark will carry Noah and his wife and their sons and their sons’ wives.   2 of every living creature will be saved, as well. 

The Law:  destroy the corruption found in all living things

The Gospel:  bring new life to earth

A (Application):  The waters of the flood stand as a gateway to a transition: something new out of something old; something redeemed from something forsaken. 

This is God’s modus operandi.   

The covenant established here is a reminder that God makes promises and keeps them. The new covenant that comes in Jesus Christ points us to God making a promise to redeem us, and God keeps that promise. 

This covenant in Jesus keeps me from too much worry and stress in this life.  Jesus is my Messiah, my savior.  I need no other messiah.  Jesus is all I need.  

That’s what keeps me calm, cool, and collected (unless my child’s changing table won’t cooperate, and keeps falling apart…if so, you don’t want to be in the room with me : )

Are you waiting on another messiah?  A relationship?  A job? A raise?   Are you looking for another messiah?  Or is Jesus all you need?

P (Prayer):  Lord, keep me steadfast in your covenant.   Help me to trust only in you.  Amen.  
(Fun fact:  How many animals were saved?  Read Genesis 6:19 and compare it to Genesis 7:2.   Be prepared to be puzzled.)

3 thoughts on “The First Covenant

  1. As I have gotten older, I find myself praying more often for God to lead/show me what He wants me to do. As I now look for a job, I pray God will lead me to where He wants me to be. My trust is in Him!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always thought the “first covenant” was the bit about putting enmity between the serpent’s seed and humankind: that bit about crushing the head and bruising the heel, etc.

    Like

    • Well, that was certainly a declaration that was fulfilled. But in terms of God declaring a promise to humanity, this is the first.

      A covenant is a promise between God and humanity (or through an individual for humanity). The promise declares that God will keep the deal God has made. The covenants are always what God does and how God keeps the promise God has made.

      Like

Leave a Reply

