Bearing One Another’s Burdens

 S (Scripture): Psalm 88:13 As for me, I cry out to you, O Lord; in the morning my prayer confronts you.

88:14 O Lord, why do you reject me,
and pay no attention to me?
88:15 I am oppressed and have been on the verge of death since my youth. I have been subjected to your horrors and am numb with pain.

O (Observation): Wow!  This author lets out all the stops and opens up!   This level of anger and frustration TOWARDS GOD is rarely heard these days. But then, maybe this text is a witness to us that we can get frustrated towards God, and maybe even doubt God, and still, God loves us and sees us through.  

God is bigger than our anger.  God is bigger than our frustrations. 

A (Application):  I’ve visited with church members recently who are having a tough time with physical health.  I see how we can all reach points of frustration and doubt.   These members I’ve visited have a solid faith.   But sometimes, the struggles can be overwhelming.  

With this psalm today, I think we are given permission to be ticked off at God, even though God didn’t cause the illness.  I think we are given permission to waver in our faith.   

And what makes up for that anger and doubt?  God’s grace poured out through the body of Christ. 

We cannot hold our own selves up at times.  We doubt at times.  We get frustrated at times.  And yet, God is bigger than our frustrations and doubts and fears.   And God gives us one another to lean on.   

I’m so glad Jesus lifts you and me, but  on the days we don’t feel lifted, raise a fist in frustration and lean on your brothers and sisters in Christ who will walk through the valley with you.  Perhaps sharing your burden will give you hope.   

What burdens are you bearing?   Can you come alongside someone who is suffering, and bear their burdens with them?

P (Prayer):  Lord, we give you thanks for being able to bear our frustrations and still pour out grace on us all.  Amen. 

11 thoughts on “Bearing One Another’s Burdens

  1. I disagree with you on being given permission to be mad at God or to waver in faith. Both of these are terrible and atrocious things. BUT, we are forgiven of our anger and wavering for Christ’s sake.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hence, permission to be angry and upset. I’ve been upset with my parents…and repented. And they still love me.

      Like

      • Forgiving someone of something doesn’t give them permission to do it. Using that logic, one could argue that God gives us permission to go out and murder or rape because he’ll forgive us.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Going down the wrong trail here.

        When Peter denies Christ, I see that as a form of doubt. Yet Jesus hands Peter the keys to the Kingdom.

        And back to the text I quoted. What is the fate of that author? The author seemed angry at God.

        Like

      • That was doubt. And just because Jesus gives Peter the keys doesn’t mean that there was approval of the doubt.

        As for the author in the Psalm was no doubt distraught and angry with God. That doesn’t mean he was given permission to do it.

        Listen, I actually agree with most of your post, but anger at God and wavering in faith are absolutely tragic things. I get angry with God and waver in my faith from time to time. That doesn’t mean God’s like, “Go for it. It’s all good.” No, it means I’m a wretched sinner in need of Christ’s forgiveness.

        Like

      • Gotcha. Subtleties in language can mean a lot. I come from the angle of making sure people know that they are still loved, and invited to repent, even in the midst of their sin. That we are first identified and claimed as God’s own, so that they know they can still come to Jesus.

        Like

      • And by the way, God forgave David for killing Bathsheba’s husband. He paid for it and he repented, but it’s still part of his past.

        Saul, who became Paul, also murdered. He relented, too, and Hod found a way to use him.

        My arguments don’t argue FOR sin…rather, God’s grace allows us to repent and believe in the Good News. That’s where I’m coming from in all of my thoughts and posts.

        Like

      • “I think we are given permission to be ticked off at God, even though God didn’t cause the illness. I think we are given permission to waver in our faith.”

        Those were your exact words. The very words “gives us permission” do in fact argue for sin. That may not have been your intent, but it is what you conveyed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Good call. Thanks for keeping the discussion going. Nuances mean a lot. I will continue to be careful and clear. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: What to do when you are out of options | Pursuit Of Purpose

Leave a Reply

