Salvation NOW

  S (Scripture): Isaiah 12:1 At that time you will say:  “I praise you, O Lord,
for even though you were angry with me, your anger subsided, and you consoled me.
12:2 Look, God is my deliverer!
I will trust in him and not fear.
For the Lord gives me strength and protects me; he has become my deliverer.”
12:3 Joyfully you will draw water
from the springs of deliverance.

O (Observation): Israel and Judah have fallen and God’s people are deeply in need of a Savior.  Isaiah, God’s prophet, speaks of a day that will come when God’s anger turns away from God’s people.  At that time, the Lord will give God’s people strength and bring them joy.  

A (Application):   For God’s people at the time, their salvation was to come at a future time.   We could read this, and decide that our future in heaven is secure, and leave it at that.  

However, I want to know what salvation we experience now.  Salvation is not only in the future for us, in heaven.  Rather, Christ has come to set us free from the power of sin and death NOW. 

What impact does “salvation now” have on your life?   How does “salvation now” bring you hope and joy today?

P (Prayer):  Lord, you watch over us and bring us salvation, now.   Help us to see how we can represent you in the world, since you have chosen us as you’re own.  Amen. 

2 thoughts on “Salvation NOW

  1. For me, salvation has come through my children. When I was younger, I used to go out partying with friends until the wee hours of the morning. At first it was exhilarating. It made me feel alive. As time went on though, I watched friends go their separate ways and that feeling of exhilaration wore off. Then my daughter came into the world and I was scared. I worried that I wouldn’t be a good father. The experience made me reassess my life and make positive changes. The burden of responsibility for another life became my salvation from my baser instincts. I think this parallels the Christian experience in a broader sense, as well. The burdens we take on in the name of Christ become what set us free from the “Adam” in our nature.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very good. We all have maturing to do. Perhaps it comes from external means (like a child : ). while for others, it comes through internal convictions. In both cases, I believe the Holy Spirit has something to do with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

