How Can This Be?

 

 S (Scripture): Job 13:13 “Refrain from talking with me so that I may speak;
then let come to me what may.
13:14 Why do I put myself in peril,
and take my life in my hands?
13:15 Even if he slays me, I will hope in him;
I will surely defend my ways to his face!
13:16 Moreover, this will become my deliverance,
for no godless person would come before him.”

O (Observation): Job is so sure of his innocence, that he is willing to risk his own life by standing before God to argue his own case.   And he knows that if he is guilty, he will be punished – even to death.  

He resents what his friends have told him.   They have essentially told Job that he must have done something wrong for God to have brought such devastation on him.   Job refuses to believe this, and wants to get to the bottom of this whole thing.  

Job’s boldness is also intriguing.   How dare anyone declare their innocence, let alone proclaiming that one would stand before God!   That’s a very bold move, indeed!

A (Application): I guess my upbringing has always caused me to fear standing before the Lord, but also to rejoice in such a thing.   But in neither case (in fear or rejoicing) did I ever think myself innocent.   

I wonder if that posture is Job’s way of saying, “I want some answers!  And I want them, now!  Damned if I’ll be innocently persecuted!”

Seldom have I felt that kind of righteous anger.  Almost shaking my fist at God kind of frustration.    So I tap into the larger suffering in the world: hunger, lack of health care, slavery, sex trafficking.   Then…I shake my fist and wonder… How can this be?

Sometimes solutions escape us.   So we trust in the Lord…and like we did during Easter Vigil, we look back at light in the midst of darkness; God bringing hope, where there is none.  

And we sit and we wait…and in the meantime, we seek God’s presence in other ways.  And who knows…maybe we become part of the solution.  

In what ways has God called you to action?  Where have you seen God’s presence lately?

P (Prayer): Lord, help us to know that we are one with you.  In this one-ness, we have your Authority to make a difference in this world and the ability to stand before you.  Make us strong when we are weak.  Help us to trust in your Power.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

