Foes Conquered

IMG_4441
Engraving of King Sennacherib

S (Scripture): 2 Chronicles 32:22 The Lord delivered Hezekiah and the residents of Jerusalem from the power of King Sennacherib of Assyria and from all the other nations. He made them secure on every side.

O (Observation): King Sennacherib of Assyria had pretty much won every battle and conquered every people he faced. Until now.

Earlier, in v. 30, the prophet, Isaiah of Amoz, and King Hezekiah called out to the Lord for aid. Hezekiah had been faithful in re-establishing worship practices and re-establishing temple practices. Calling on the Lord before the battle seemed less like a “get out of jail free” card, and more like the culmination of a people who steadily relied on the Lord (at least since Hezekiah became king).

The Lord does come to the aid of Judah, and drives out Sennacherib (who is then humiliated and killed by his own people).

A (Application): If you read my blog post yesterday (click here for that blog post), you would have shared in my struggle of how I lead, and whether or not anyone would follow (or if anyone is following right now).

That’s my struggle. That’s Sennacherib coming into my world in the form of immaturity, doubt, naiveté, inexperience, etc.

Today, I shout to the Lord, “Come to my aid!”

I have a great group of disciple-mates that helped me begin to work through this struggle yesterday. I believe the Lord is out ahead of me, conquering “Sennacherib” for me, so that I can use the gifts God has given me for Kingdom work.

What is your “Sennacherib”? Leave a comment, and let us share in that struggle together.

P (Prayer): Lord, we cry out to you for aid. We remain faithful as best we can, but we rely on you. Conquer Sennacherib for us…pave the way. Amen.

Leave a Reply

