Not Playing Favorites

2015/01/img_4209.jpg

S (Scripture): Acts 10:34 Then Peter started speaking: “I now truly understand that God does not show favoritism in dealing with people, 10:35 but in every nation the person who fears him and does what is right is welcomed before him.”

O (Observation): After his interaction with Cornelius, Peter starts a speech here with these words.

A (Application): I believe his words help me understand that the Lord calls all people to himself. And The Lord used us as mouthpieces, hands, feet, eyes, ears to speak to and walk alongside all people of all walks of life. Everyone is eligible to receive the gift of grace. What each of us does with that grace is up to us. But everyone should get a chance to hear and experience the love of God.

Is there a group of people who you have cut off already? For me, people who have wronged me fit into this category…unfair on my part, I know. But then, our God is much bigger and forgiving than I am. This is where I am weak…and I seek God’s grace… After all, God does not show favoritism.

P (Prayer): Lord, help me to break down the walls that I build up around your gift of grace, and welcome all people into that gift of grace, so that you might transform all people to love you and to love one another. Amen.

Leave a Reply

