A Whole New World (there…now that I got that one stuck in your head : )

IMG_3706.JPG

S (Scripture): John 17:25 (Jesus speaks) “Righteous Father, even if the world does not know you, I know you, and these men know that you sent me. 17:26 I made known your name to them, and I will continue to make it known, so that the love you have loved me with may be in them, and I may be in them.”

O (Observation): Jesus has a deep connection with God that he continually makes known to the disciples around him. Knowing that Jesus and God are intimately connected is one thing, but being brought into that love directly is a whole other thing.

This point is like the difference between knowing about a person and knowing the person – the difference between knowing about God and knowing God intimately and directly.

A (Application): The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make throughout my life span is moving from knowing about things to knowing things directly.

I’ve known people who played guitar…lots of them, but then I actually picked up a guitar and started learning. At that point, a whole new world opened up to me, a world in which I was now a full participant. I was a poor guitar player, but I was “in.”

As a disciple of Christ, the biggest hurdle I had to overcome (and I’m always overcoming, through Christ) is the movement from knowing about God to knowing God. This is a world of difference. This difference inspires me to get up every day and step into the Word for peace, joy, struggle, hope. This difference has caused me to look beyond myself, and to have a passion for helping others to know God, instead of just knowing about God.

Which way are you leaning towards these days? Knowing about God? Knowing God?

Who do you know that has a deep connection with God? Perhaps being around them could be helpful.

P (Prayer): Lord, your love is poured into us brings on a whole new way of being. Usher is into a joy and hope that keeps us at peace and gives us courage to face the world. Amen.

Leave a Reply

